Review: Kade by Delores Fossen

23 Jun

Kade by Delores Fossen
Harlequin (July 1, 2012)
Mass Market: $5.25; ebook: $4.99
ISBN: 9780373696277

Favorite Lines: “But Kade hadn’t thought he was ready to be a father until he had seen Leah’s face. Just the sight of her had caused something to switch in his head, and in that moment Leah became the most important person in his life. He would die to protect his little girl.” (p. 66, e-galley)

One look at the baby girl, and there was no question Kade Ryland was the father. For three months, Kade had posed as Bree Winston’s husband at the Fulbright Fertility Clinic, while the two FBI agents investigated a trail of illegal adoptions and surrogates. Nine months later, a baby was dropped at his feet—and Bree was nowhere to be found. Now Kade had to reopen a case that had gotten way too personal and find Bree—fast. But if the two of them had never been a real couple, were they ready to be parents? Whatever the answer, Kade now had more than one reason to close this case once and for all.

Mini Rant: First of all I’ve got to say that while I like the cover it ruins the story. Reading the e-galley, I didn’t have a cover to look at. That means when certain events took place I was surprised. Now looking at the cover, knowing the story, I can’t help but feel like someone in the marketing department spoiled this book for other would-be readers.

Kade surprised me. I thought I’d like it; duh, why else would I read it? It started off with a bang and just kept moving. The suspense was steady. Every time I thought I knew who the villains were, someone would say or do something to make me change my mind. We’re told up front who the suspects are and Delores Fossen does a good job keeping us bouncing  with suspicion.

The romance was slightly different from what I thought it would be. The Kade and Bree never had sex, but they are the biological parents of the same child. They worked together and were attracted to one another while working undercover. The story starts almost a year later with Kade being told he has a baby and it had been abandoned. The beginning reeled me in and I had to know more.

Kade is a fast paced book that shows us two people investigating Bree’s unexplained disappearance while she adjusts to the news that she is a mother. Bree doesn’t remember her pregnancy or the first moments holding her child. When you put that with her previous determination to never be a mother, you understand how confused and upset she is.

Unfortunately I never really felt her distress at not remembering those memories that many women cherish. I got her shock at being a mother and her quick acceptance and love for her child, but not the emotional loss of those mother/baby only memories. There wasn’t the dissatisfaction with all she missed while pregnant. Maybe she felt like those memories would return gradually as her other memories did.

The book is straight down the line solid. It’s a satisfying read that left me with the happy feeling that I expect to have when finishing a romance. It wasn’t an over the top happy, but a I’m feeling just right type of feeling.

Leave a Reply

