Caressed by Ice by Nalini Singh

18 Jun

Favorite Lines: “She came at him in a silent hail of teeth and claws, slamming his body against the door and causing it to shut with a violent bang.” (142)

Once again Nalini Singh has roped me into the Psy/Changeling/Human world she has created. While we hear little about humans, she is quite clear that we shouldn’t discount them. Caressed by Ice takes us back to Slave to Sensation and the final victim of the serial killer.

This book is a stand alone featuring Brenna and Judd, a Psy living with the Wolves. Time has passed since Enrique tortured and experimented on Brenna, but when a packmate is killed within the SnowDancer compound she begins to lose control. Suddenly, she can see other people’s dreams and is on the verge of losing her mind.

Judd is a defector from the Arrows. He was an elite soldier for the Psy (as we learned in Visions of Heat) and is the only one who can reach Brenna. He has his own demons, though. He’s hiding major secrets about his powers. The secrets have the ability to destroy both him and any relationship with Brenna. Toss in a killer who is determined to kill Brenna and you’ve got the basics for this soon to be released novel by Nalini Singh.

Yes, I said it earlier, but I’m gonna say it again. I loved this book. Judd shows us the intense conditioning that is involved in Silence and Ms. Singh does a much better job of showing the ‘dissonance’ that affects the Psy when they attempt to break Silence. She also lets us see that we know nothing about the danger stalking the Changelings.

Usually about now I’m telling y’all about the bad guy and how I knew who it was early on. Not this time. I had no clue who wanted Brenna dead. The Psy counsel is still trifling. Their quest for power is shown to be growing and leads me to believe that this series is far from over. (There are new characters introduced that help with this assumption.)

I hope y’all love this book as much as I did. It’ll be out in Sept. but you can pre-order at Amazon by going here.

4 Responses to “Caressed by Ice by Nalini Singh”

  1. Rosie June 18, 2007 at 4:34 pm #

    Tease! I always have a list of books TBB, but I have to say this one I’m really excited about.

  2. barbara June 20, 2007 at 8:01 pm #

    I am so so jealous. I can’t hardly wait until sept

  3. scooper June 21, 2007 at 6:46 am #

    Rosie- It’s good. I liked the stoic Psy man.

    barbara- It’s soo worth the wait. I don’t think you’ll be disappointed.

  4. clare June 21, 2007 at 12:40 pm #

    I really, really want to get my mitts on this book now. Thanks for posting a review of it.

Leave a comment