Accidental Demon Slayer by Angie Fox

27 May

Favorite Line: “You should have seen me today. I wasted the Phantom Menace. Been after him my whole life. And today– whammo! So don’t tell me I can’t bust a demon. Oh yeah, I can bust a demon.” (p. 21 ARC)

Everything was going according to plan for Lizzie Brown. She’s turning 30, is dressed and ready to go until she opens the door and meets her grandmother for the first time. Her biker grandmother who happens to be a witch armed with spells in Smucker jars, who locks  her in the bathroom and tells her she’s the new demon slayer.

Poor Lizzie. Her terrier, Pirate, is speaking to her. Demons are popping out of her toilet trying to kill her. And she can’t cuss worth a damn, because her job at Happy Hands Preschool has ruined her.

Within minutes, Lizzie finds herself on the run. She’s hanging out in a biker bar and in a dumpster, all while falling in lust with her griffin protector, Dimitri Kallinikos.

A protector with secrets, Dimitri will turn Lizzie into a powerful, demon slayer, before he confides in her. But will the secret destroy the couple before they form a relationship?

If you’re looking for a fun, light hearted and crazy romp  through the paranormal, this is the book for you. Ms. Fox has created a world of psycho, Red Hat witches, power hungry werewolves, a demon underworld (totally unique to me) and a talking overactive dog.

Yes, I said, “dog.” At first I wasn’t sure how I felt about the dog talking. I put the book down, took a deep breath, and started it again. Once in the right mindset-comedy-I found the dog great. He spoke just as I’d imagine a  little, bouncy dog would. The things on a poor dog’s mind. *giggling*

Nothing in life has prepared Lizzie for her new life as a demon slayer. With geriatric women chanting and throwing roadkill, she’ll need patience learned in preschool. But that patience will go out the window as she gets to know her inner slayer and spends time with her sexy griffin companion.

Lizzie’s life is in chaos and jeopardy. She has a short time to learn the most important aspect of demon slaying. To be a great demon slayer-or a live one-she must let go and accept an important fact. She can’t control everything.

Accidental Demon Slayer is a nice break for those looking to read a paranormal romance, while poking fun at it. There is no reverence and nothing is safe from Ms. Fox world altering humor. She takes a much loved genre of romance, blasts it apart with jelly jars and pieces it back together with doggy humor. This is perfect beach reading material. (Well, if you want to get burned because you forgot to turn over.)

Those looking for a deep, dark paranormal won’t find it here.

Accidental Demon Slayer goes on sale July 29.

4 Responses to “Accidental Demon Slayer by Angie Fox”

  1. Wendy May 28, 2008 at 7:24 pm #

    I just won an early copy of this book today and I’m sooo excited to read it! It sounds so funny, great review! 🙂

  2. scooper May 28, 2008 at 7:34 pm #

    Wendy- I thought it was funny. Hope you love it.

  3. Angie Fox May 28, 2008 at 10:35 pm #

    Glad you liked it. And, yes, this book is all about having fun.

    In fact, one of the best compliments I’ve received on it was when one industry professional said it was, “Like the movie Shaun of the Dead, only with witches.” The story stands on its own, but I admit, as a fan of paranormal romance (both light and dark), I had a good time playing with the genre.

  4. scooper May 28, 2008 at 11:35 pm #

    Hey Angie. Thanks for popping by. That is a great analagy. I wish I’d have thought of it.

Leave a comment