Curse the Dawn by Karen Chance

11 Mar

cursethedawnchanceFavorite line: “Mircea kissed like he wanted live in my skin, slow and thorough, with teeth and tongue, like he never ever wanted to stop.” (p. 32) I was sent a review copy.

Apollo wants Cassie Palmer dead. Because she is the world’s top clairvoyant, the Pythia, and unpredictable/uncontrollable, many magical beings want her removed, but Apollo is at the top of the list. In this world demotion means death. With the Vampire Senate backing her claim to the office of Pythia, and Mircea (a master vampire) claiming her, Cassie is having a hard time appearing neutral. And neutral is exactly what the Pythia must always be.

It’s in her best interest for the magical beings to accept her, because ‘A’ who wants people always trying to kill you. And ‘B’ the Silver Circle (good mages) were able to banish Apollo the last time he was on Earth and appear to be her only hope of survival.

Things never go smooth with Cassie, so it’s a good thing she has Mircea and her partner Pritkin the war mage, on her side.

I love, love, love this book. From my favorite line to a life CHANGING (hint, hint) experience, I enjoyed myself. I laughed out loud several times as Ms. Chance made unrealistic experiences realistic. With lovable characters and great pacing, Curse the Dawn , book four in the Cassie Palmer series, is the best book in the series. Don’t get me wrong, all the books were good, but Curse the Dawn surpasses them. It has it all: mystery, sex, romance, mixed emotions and vampires, of course.

Book three, Embrace the Night, has everything you need to understand what is going on in this book. This is a series so don’t even try to jump in here, it won’t make sense. Go back to book one and start the series ’cause this is a book worth reading. It will be released for sale April 7.

Book 1: Touch the Dark
Book 2: Claimed by Shadow
Book 3: Embrace the Night
Book 4: Curse the Dawn

4 Responses to “Curse the Dawn by Karen Chance”

  1. Renee March 11, 2009 at 10:42 pm #

    This is such a great series! You’re right about it having it all: action, humor, and some serious chemistry between Cassie and Mircea. In fact, there’s a scene with them in (I think) Embrace the Night that I still can’t get out of my head. ::fans self::

    I’m so glad to hear that the series just keeps getting better. Now you’ve got me really curious about what’s going to happen.

  2. scooper March 16, 2009 at 7:28 pm #

    Renee: Yes, yes, yes. I want Cassie and Mircea together…on some kind of common ground. It’s going to be a whole year before another book comes out. I wish it would come sooner.

  3. INertia April 14, 2009 at 5:27 pm #

    This was definitely my favorite book of the series. I’m a pritkin and cassie fan. i just love them together. I love how they bicker and are always at each others throats but deep down, they’d do anything for each other. I like Mircea, but i feel that the feelings they have for each other are mislead because of the geis. Her feelings for pritkin however developed on their own. Plus Pritkins just a bad ass. I love that lol

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Curse the Dawn by K. Chance | Literary Escapism - June 30, 2009

    […] Also reviewed by: Darque Reviews Vampire Genre Scooper Speaks […]

Leave a comment