The Hourglass Door by Lisa Mangum

29 Mar

thehourgassdoormangumFavorite lines: “I do love you Abigail Beatrice Edmunds. I love you through all the twists and turns of the river. I love you beyond the borders of the bank and back.” (ARC p. 394)

Senior year of high school is usually a time of endings and beginnings, the best time of a teenager’s life. And so it is for Abby. She’s the assistant director of her school’s play, got the perfect boyfriend, two best friends, and a perfect family. While her life is very boring controlled, she is preparing herself for college and shrugging off all feelings of anxiety.

One day an exchange student from Italy, Dante Alexander, starts taking classes at her school and becomes an extra in the school’s play. It’s up to Abby to bring him up to snuff for his role, but Abby can’t help feeling something more when she’s around him. He’s adventurous, fun, and hiding secrets that threaten to pull Abby into a secret straight out of the sixteenth century.

Mrs. Mangum bursts onto the scene with The Hourglass Door, an exciting, wonder filled ride about a teenager growing into herself and finding love.

Abby is the perfect child. She does what is expected of her and never rocks the boat. That is  until she sends a college application to Emmery College and decides to live up to the school’s motto, “Live without Limits.” Suddenly she’s spending time with the new student, Dante, and learning that somethings in life worth having require effort.

When I started I was a little disappointed because the prologue is vague and doesn’t seem to match the summary on the back of the book. Then I became intrigued. As I continued reading and meeting characters I began to understand the purpose. It ties everything together and hints at what’s to come. In other words, it does its job.

The story is a directed at young adults, so there’s a lot of kissing, hugging and hand holding, but no actual sex.

The Hourglass Door is book one in a new series (of I don’t know how many books), and revolves around an ancient invention. The lead characters were engaging and interesting, but most of the secondary characters fell flat for me. They lacked depth.

While I read the book I kept thinking that The Hourglass Door would make an excellent movie. When all is said and done, Mrs. Mangum proved to me (again) that young adult books are not just for teens. They can be fun, have a great plot and characters that I want to succeed, and be well written.

The Hourglass Door will be released May 13. Visit the author’s blog.

9 Responses to “The Hourglass Door by Lisa Mangum”

  1. Sarah March 29, 2009 at 8:11 pm #

    You’ve won the ARC contest at Reading Romance Books. Email me your address asap and I’ll try to get the book out tomorrow! readingromancebooks@gmail.com. Congrats!!

  2. Lisa Mangum March 29, 2009 at 8:35 pm #

    Thanks for the review! I’m glad you enjoyed the story!

    The Hourglass Door is the first in a trilogy, so watch for book two coming in 2010.

    Thanks, too, for the link to LeosDungeon.com, but until that site is built, you are welcome to visit me (and read my blog) at my web site LisaMangum.com.

    Thanks again!
    Lisa Mangum

  3. scooper March 29, 2009 at 9:33 pm #

    Sarah: Thanks, I’m pretty psyched.

    Lisa: Thanks for popping over. I loved the ending of the story and look forward to the next book. Please stop by and let us know when the blog site is up and running.

  4. Jaimee Morgan April 11, 2009 at 10:49 pm #

    My husband Stan and I both read the book and loved it. Mind you, I don’t usually stay awake long enough on a flight to read, but I could not put this book down. Fabulous, fabulous, fabulous!

  5. Abigail Romero September 21, 2010 at 2:19 pm #

    Oh my gosh i love this book and i wanna read the golden spiral sooo bad!

  6. scooper September 21, 2010 at 2:22 pm #

    I’ll be posting the review of The Golden Spiral soon! Make sure you come back and check it out.

  7. Daina March 25, 2012 at 11:49 pm #

    I loved the books!! Will there be a movie made?

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 2010 in Review « Scooper Speaks - January 2, 2011

    […] The Hourglass Door by Lisa Mangum March 2009 6 comments […]

  2. The Hourglass Door Trilogy « Scooper Speaks - March 11, 2011

    […] really enjoyed the first book in the series. You can read my review of it here. I’m currently reading book two, The Golden Spiral and the final book in the series, The […]

Leave a comment