The Rest Falls Away

16 Feb

Favorite Lines: “Nilly have you been into the sherry this afternoon? There are no such things as vampires!” (43)

I put this book on my to buy list after reading about it in Romantic Times magazine. I was rather hesitant to do so due to my hatred of Regency books. After reading different blogs about the book, I found my appetite whetted for the kind of information that only comes from first hand information. It was time to read this book. Warning: this book is not your typical HEA romance. That said, it is a great book.

I loved Buffy and this book reminds me of the series. It has a torn heroine who is certain of her destiny and her future yet has a world of pain awaiting her. She is learning to balance her vampire slaying with her responsibilities of being a debutant. She is coming into her sexuality and has three obvious choices of male companions if she so desired.

Victoria Gardella is coming out, as a vampire slayer (Venator) and in society. She is supposed to search for a husband and stop the vampires from getting an evil book that would lead to the destruction of humanity. Along the way she meets Lord Rockley, a man from her childhood, who also happens to be the catch of the season. Rockley wants Victoria and seems determined to get her. There is also the mysterious Sebastion, proprietor of a club that caters to vampires and humans, and Max, a fellow Venator.

One of the best parts of this book is discovering who Victoria will be with. One of the drawbacks, you have to wait for the next installment to hopefully satisfy the hunger this book incites. It is not a traditional romance novel but harkens back to an older style of writing that teases, pulses, and wains. It draws you in and releases you before yanking you back. The setting is vivid and the characters extremely well crafted. Many of the situations are reminiscent of Buffy episodes, but only the great moments and reset into a time long ago. This book is a must read.

11 Responses to “The Rest Falls Away”

  1. Susan Helene Gottfried February 16, 2007 at 11:00 am #

    AWESOME review — I hope Colleen sees it!!

    I wish I was more caught up on what’s here, so I could pick this up today without feeling guilty about the others that have been here longer, patiently waiting their turns…

  2. karen! February 16, 2007 at 11:39 am #

    This sounds like such an interesting book. I’ve added it to my wishlist 😉

  3. Janelle M. February 16, 2007 at 12:43 pm #

    Great review! This is in my to be read pile, I may have to find a way to sneak it in between must reads as it sounds amazing.

    Thanks for choosing this one to review for the contest.

  4. Rashenbo February 16, 2007 at 7:31 pm #

    I got this book last night! I’m going to be posting a review of it myself soon! 🙂

  5. Amie Stuart February 19, 2007 at 9:41 am #

    I’m about halfway done but I agree–it’s fabulous!

  6. Camille February 19, 2007 at 9:59 am #

    Another yes vote for this one!

    Thanks for the review.

  7. scooper February 19, 2007 at 2:06 pm #

    Susan, Janelle, Rashenbo, Amie, and Camille- I’m glad y’all liked the review. I’m pretty notorious for writing short and to the point. I haven’t read any negative reviews of this book as of yet and I’m crossing my fingers for Gleason that there won’t be any. Call me crazy but I’m torn about this being listed as a romance. What do y’all think?

  8. Susan Helene Gottfried February 19, 2007 at 8:53 pm #

    I think I need to read it… I’m going to be the last person on the planet to read this poor book!!

    I also think that congratulations are in order, as you’ve won a copy of Matt Curran’s A Secret War. Please drop me an e-mail and I’ll pass it along to Matt’s publicist, who’ll mail it out to you.

    From all of us at West of Mars, Writing Aspirations, and Debut a Debut, thanks for playing and congratulations! I hope you’ll play again in future contests.

  9. scooper February 19, 2007 at 9:23 pm #

    Susan- Woo-Hoo! I’m very happy and there is no doubt that I’ll play again.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. West Of Mars — The Meet and Greet » Blog Archive » And the Winners are… - February 19, 2009

    […] scooper — Matt Curran’s The Secret War […]

  2. West of Mars » Blog Archive » Debut a Debut: GO! - June 20, 2010

    […] Scooper with The Rest Falls Away, by Colleen Gleason […]

Leave a comment