Small book review

20 Aug

I don’t feel good today, so I’m going to post a very short book review of Whispering Rock by Robyn Carr. This is book three in the Virgin River trilogy. I reviewed books one and two and had many positive things to say. This book continues in the same fashion. It also continues the trend that book two began; it drifts away from the supposed main characters.

I almost feel tricked. The back cover blurb basically says the book is about a wounded cop (Mike) who wants to settle down. He’s been married twice, both of the marriages failed, but he’s ready to change that. In steps his friends little sister. Brie is a recently divorced prosecuting attorney who has been brutally beaten and raped. She escapes to the small town of Virgin River to heal and learn to trust again.

The pages dedicated to that story were slim. I’d say out of the 362 pages that compose the book, less than half of them are about Mike and Brie. The book flips back to the characters introduced in books one and two. I’m not saying that it’s a bad thing, but I didn’t appreciate this book like I did the first two. You may feel different. If you’ve read it, let me know what you think.

You can buy Whispering Rock here.

4 Responses to “Small book review”

  1. Holly August 20, 2007 at 2:46 pm #

    I agree that having the storylines jump around so much was frustrating. But..I still liked it. I think RC turned this into a town saga, rather than just a strict Romance, which is why we saw so much of previous characters.

    I was slightly disappointed in the lack of focus on the main protagonists, but overall was still very pleased. I’m anxiously awaiting the next in the series.

    Will you continue reading, or were you put off?

  2. Holly August 20, 2007 at 2:47 pm #

    Oh, and I meant to say…

    I’m sorry you aren’t feeling well. Hope you get better quick!

  3. scooper August 20, 2007 at 7:15 pm #

    Holly- The book was alright, but I was disappointed that the story wasn’t mainly about Mike and Brie. Thanks for the well-wishes. My stomach is killing me. It feels better for awhile, then it cramps really bad.

  4. Tia August 20, 2007 at 8:10 pm #

    I’ve had books that do that to me. The blurb says one thing, but it turns out to only be a small part of the plot. Grr.

    I hope you feel better soon!

Leave a comment